About RWTH Aachen University

RWTH Aachen University

More than 30,000 students, including 5,000 international students are enrolled in the nine departments and more than 85 fields of study of RWTH Aachen University. RWTH has 440 professors and 6,800 employees. The main educational and research area is engineering. The university traditionally has close relations with industry, which is reflected in the funding of roughly 150 Mio EUR from third parties. The key features of the RWTH’s scientific work is a complex interdisciplinary network comprising 19 individual research and competence networks, currently 11 special research areas (SFB) as well as in the participation in Transregio-SFB and in six interdisciplinary forums. RWTH is a member of international research associations such as the IDEA League, a focused network of leading European universities of science and technology.